Three-Story-poster-hz

So here’s what I’ve been up to since I last posted.

A moment of gumption that struck me as I drank my coffee one morning turned into a thing, thanks to unprecedented support and participation.

One of my favorite hobbies is making things happen. In my many years as a publicist, the thing I like best is taking an idea and making it a reality, just by getting the word out. (Similarly, it breaks my heart when there’s a really good thing, but nobody knows about it.)

In this case, the “if you build it they will come” force was strong.

One January morning I was sitting drinking my coffee and I thought, what do I want to do this year?  I started thinking about a discussion I’d had with my friend, Cristina, about collaborative art shows. At the time, I’d come up with a lot of themes that might tie together disparate art styles, and one of them was “Three Story Houses.” I figured everybody’s got a house, and a story, so the theme might spark a collection of narrative art that could engage viewers.

Within minutes of remembering that conversation, I decided to create an event and invite my artist, artist-leaning and art-curious friends to participate in it. I did it right then, on my ipad. I created a logo, a name, an event, a half-hatched scheme without leaving the couch.

IMG_1756-on white

I told people I would provide everyone with a substrate upon which to make their art on the theme, “Three Story Houses.” They would make something, and in a month’s time, we would all get together, see what we made, and decide from there what to do with it. Was anybody in?

Well, it happened. Defying my usual expectation of 5% participation, out of the 35 or so people I invited, nearly ALL OF THEM said yes, they’d do it! So one January day, I ended up driving all over Bozeman, delivering cheap 12×24″ canvases I’d bought. My front porch was a hive of activity, too, as labeled canvases awaited their keepers.

I figured, well maybe half of these people will actually DO this, so we’ll end up with maybe 12 or 15 paintings. Even six would be cool. 

tyson-and-catey

It turned out that all but one of the people who accepted the invite showed up at my house Feb 21 with art in hand! (Okay, one of them didn’t get his done until after the deadline, but still pretty impressive.)

So, we ended up with 29 pieces of art (one person did two!) and they are all cool, and they all represent unique approaches to the theme.

At my February party, I asked everybody to give me their input on where we should hold a public show. I got a lot of great suggestions, but one of my own dreams was to make sure the art could be seen by a lot of people who weren’t actively looking for art. I didn’t want it to just be an Artwalk event where tourists and wine-guzzlers wandered by. And I didn’t want it to just be a one-night underground thing, where only the hip in-crowd saw it. And I didn’t want people to have to pay to see it. I mean all of those things would have been nice, but I wanted more.

My dream was for people who might not otherwise seek out art to get a surprising little goose of stimulation.

So, I did some calling around, and my friends Ryan Cassavaugh and Ron Gompertz  agreed to my pleas that the Verge Theater and Wild Joe’s Coffeespot, respectively, would bookend a crazy little series of pop-up shows in places where people might not expect to see art.

I scheduled shows and art talks throughout April and May 2016 at rest homes, a school, and I’m in the process of nailing down appearances at an engineering building and (please, God) a bowling alley! It looks like publicity from the premiere show & reception, April 9 at Verge Theater might spark more pop-ups before the final public show at Wild Joe’s, June 1-30.

So that’s what I’ve been up to.

If you’d like to catch one of the shows, check out the Calendar at Community Art Bozeman, or see my post about the opening at Verge April 9.

Here’s a sneak peek at my own “Three Story” story, “Truths, Secrets and White Lies.”

Three Story Houses submission-lr8

 

