Garage sale angelI got a new angel at a garage sale a couple of weeks ago. She’ll join the heavenly host of kitschy angels when the holidays roll around, but for now, she’s enjoying a few moments of glory on top of the old gas stove in the kitchen.

Some have said that she bears an uncanny resemblance to Tammy Faye Baker, maybe with a dash of Courtney Love. It does look like maybe she was a little wasted when she was crayoning on the mascara…

I have a special thing for figurines whose eyes are painted in such a way that the entire white area is colored. (Don’t tell anybody, or people will start collecting them and I won’t be able to get prizes like this for 10 cents.) As you will note, this angel has all that, plus a “holy shit what a night, how did I get home?” hairdo and little flesh colored felt mitten-stumps for hands. Do you not find her winsome/terrifying?

I decided to take a closeup portrait of her, to immortalize how fabulous she is, and then got carried away taking portraits of other favorites from the kitschatorium. I haven’t quite got the hang of using my camera’s automatic macro setting, so some of them are kind of blurry. I’m kind of thinking of getting a digital SLR, so I can feel frustrated that even with the right equipment I’m still a crappy photographer. But Tammy Faye Love and I will cross that bridge when we come to it.

Meanwhile, I will pat myself on the back for recognizing a kick-ass angel when I see one.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

