Bootscape 2 - fabric illustration by Marla GoodmanThis started innocently enough. I thought I’d try messing around using some vintage fabric scraps in illustrations, just to see what would happen. But I also have a mercenary streak. Eventually, I’d kind of like this to lead to something that somebody might want to buy.

Enter the cowboy boot. I live in Montana. And if you live in Montana, the conventional wisdom has been, if you want to sell something, put a damn cowboy boot on it. Ye olde western flair. The cowboy boot, the hat, the bison, the elk. I actually hate that stuff. I really do. (I mean, I don’t have anything against cowboy boots or elk, but you get pretty sick of everybody having to be all western all the time around here. It can get pretty phony.) But… I thought I’d try a few illustrations that have take-home appeal for Montana visitors anyway, because what hell, it’s only fabric illustration.

But then I started having FUN. And then came the bunnies.Bootscape 3 - fabric illustration by Marla Goodman Bunny Boots 1 - fabric illustration by Marla GoodmanBunny Boots 2 - fabric illustration by Marla GoodmanBunny Boots 3 - fabric illustration by Marla Goodman

